How does HB 1729 impact the Prevailing Wage Law? July 28, 2021 19:34 Legislation (HB 1729) passed by the Missouri General Assembly and signed by the governor becomes effective August 28, 2018. This law makes several changes to Missouri's prevailing wage system. You can find a summary of those changes here. For FAQs specific to HB 1729, click here. Related articles What is the prevailing wage? **NEW** Should overtime be defined as work over 40 hours in a 7 day time period?