Can a person under the age of 18 be an independent contractor? July 29, 2021 19:00 No. Missouri law prohibits any individual under the age of 18 from working as an independent contractor. Related articles At what age can a young person start working? What if Missouri and federal child labor laws do not agree? What jobs are not allowable for 14- and 15-year-olds? Can an employer pay an individual under 20 years of age less than the applicable minimum wage rate? If a young person works for a parent does the law still apply?